Skip to content
Tags

Books and More books!

September 24, 2007

I am hearing all around about books and their usefulness in MBA education, but talk about the days when books meant crawling onto the sofa with your favorite Tinkle and reading Shikari Shambu’s escapades.

I was one of the bookworms they talk about. Only that it never reflected in my grades though! I used to wake up at 5:30 in the morning, wait for the paper boy to drop “The Hindu” and read it in the “thinnai” before anyone else and discuss the political affairs with everyone. People thought I would go to places 😀 (Dont even bother what they felt when I turned out the way I am!)

Or the classical “Chandamama” or its tamil version “AmbuliMama” , with its Vikramadityan and Betal Stories, which were a pile in my grandma’s house. The phantom series which was our family cartoons. We used to quote the punch lines of Phantom!

Then I moved on having exhausted them all to papers in which groundnuts used to be given and collect them and read. By seven I was reading local magazines , news papers and any other thing that is readable.

I then moved slowly to the process of reading story books. The real fiction interested me much later, but first it was only the non detailed stories of my sister’s English course like Oliver Twist.

Then I moved into non fiction like how to make friends and influence people, games people play etc. when I didnt even know what they meant!

Then went back to real fiction… For a long long while..Then some Ayn Rand…which was one serious thought kindler

And along came Harry Potter, LOTR and the likes….

Now I am trudging along trying to fit in management related books, fiction, classics I missed in child hood, classic non fiction, and some health books..

So the books in the currently reading list are (since the past 2 months)
Thousand Splendid Suns, Yoga for stress, Pride and Prejudice, Games Indians Play, Ramayana by C Rajagopalachari, and Six Thinking Hats.

That is awfully too many for a person who reads one book per hour usually…

From → MBA, Stories

2 Comments
  1. Why do I see a reflection of my reading habits in yours? 😀

  2. Shuba permalink

    Yea for most of my life..Now is a different time altogether..unlike u i havent studied books int his two year as much as i would like to

Leave a Reply

