Skip to content

I am a shiny one rupee coin , just out of mint…

August 9, 2006

When I was a kid, we were given exercises to write autobiographies–of a one rupee coin mostly.. or a dog or a race horse..
My class mates took out their copy of Wren and Martin’s Grammar book for this mammoth task
By the way, I always think of Wren and Martin as ENGLISH KONAR GUIDE..
We all wrote the same thing (except me- I had another lesser known grammar bookโ€ฆ. He he)
But I read all grammar books only for the story.. I loved the way a coin or a dog had a story to tell about its life.. It used to be kind of demeaning to me to notice that I didnโ€™t have a life half as exciting as a shiny one rupee coin..
Well, come to think of it, I was never put in a stable for old horses from being a race horse either..
Even then, I was always jealous.. I wanted my 15 minutes of glory too.. No grammar book of future will have a autobiography of Shuba..
No school question paper will ask it..
๐Ÿ˜ฆ
I still wonder what happened to that dog which was thrown in the street after it became old? How did it survive? How did it die?
The old one rupee coin, now lost of all its shine, in the piggy bank of the little girl.. surely,that girl must be grown up now? What did she spend that for? Or is the coin hoping to be a collector’s edition 1 rupee coin for the future numismatist?
Frankly,who cares about these coins? Why dont anybody talk about human beings?
Well, see , there are people like me who are prolonging its 15 minutes of glory.. Why did I even start blogging about these?

From → Uncategorized

14 Comments
  1. eMuki permalink

    Difficult to actually comment on this… cbse syllabus(s) never had these exercises..

  2. retarded permalink

    An Antithetical view on a small topic. Its the perspective and philosophy [yes,yes, it has a philosophy.. of nostalgia probably?] that imaprts colour to an otherwise dull topic of grammar-homework on autobiographies of rupee coin, dog or horses!
    nice work. keep posting.

  3. Sriram R permalink

    i think of naming my next post 15 mins for my Dee Dee!.. howzaat?? ๐Ÿ˜‰

  4. Fiery Ice permalink

    @sriram
    waiting for that post
    ๐Ÿ˜€

    @retarded
    Thanks for thinking up all this about my post.. I am glad somebody could think of somethignn so dignified for my posts ๐Ÿ˜‰

    @emukhi
    I had the best of cbse and matric.. so i really know both the syllabus.. but we used to use wren and martin even in cbse??

    have you never come across this?
    what a pity..

  5. eMuki permalink

    actually nver came across this..also nver used wren n martin also…we used to make fun of friends in local board who used it ;)..not derogatory..not again…huh!;)

  6. Anonymous permalink

    Ur piece on coin’s story was refreshing one. May be i missed the same thrill at young age as I was poor in languages. Keep writing.

    venu kodimela

  7. Fiery Ice permalink

    @venu

    It is never too late to borrow a wren and martin ๐Ÿ™‚

    @emuki
    same to you too.. never too late to learn grammar ๐Ÿ˜›

  8. eMuki permalink

    WREN N MARTIN is suppose to b one of the very ‘low end ‘ books to learn grammer from..:p

  9. Fiery Ice permalink

    @emukhi

    start low my friend!!

  10. eMuki permalink

    Its too late to start madam ;-(..thankfully the IT industry accepts this lay man’s grammer..unlike my fellow blogger ๐Ÿ˜‰

  11. Fiery Ice permalink

    Cool for you..

  12. eMuki permalink

    True friends are hard to come by. . . I need more money.
    ..well i think its true..

  13. Abhineuros permalink

    Hello Shuba..
    i was wondering if u ve a ‘h’ b4 ‘a’ too..
    anyways i too m very fond of writing autobiographies..
    more importantly to think with the frequencies of others..
    like EMPATHIZING.. may be ’15 min of Horse race i won’ or may be ‘ to be the lucky toss-coin of M.S.Dhoni, to win the T-20 Finals’ or may be ‘the pen of gr8 Rabindranath tagore, for whom i gulped down every drop of ink n poured it out on paper in form of GEETANJALI’…
    anyways.. it would be nice if u put in some more of ur literally art in form of such blogs….
    thanks.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. 2010 in review | As Usual So Different

Leave a Reply

