Skip to content

Scarlett O Hara

April 7, 2006

I recently finished reading this book – “Gone with the wind”. I refer the book as “Scarlett O Hara” to myself. In fact, it is so well registered in my mind by the name, that I tell others that I read Scarlett O Hara.

Why on earth, would someone change the romantic title to such a filmy ishtyle kaa naam? My guilty reason is that I have wanted to read the book, only because of this central character Scarlett. I am a believer in sun signs and astrology, and love to use it as a way of analysing people (That, is another of my endless hobbies). So, the first time I read Linda Goodman’s Sun Signs, I felt curious about Scarlett, whom Linda calls is a typical “Aries”. I believe I am so typical of my sunsign (atleast 75% aries, I should say). So, it was natural that I wanted to know this person better.

Atlast, I managed to lay hands on this book, first looking like a mammoth of 500 odd pages, a bit too big to complete fast in office hours, but I began reading, and what a reading it was?

The whole story was a bit disappointing, not that it was bad, but I had expected something more. But truly, it was well-written. The character portrayal of Scarlett was so detailed, that whatever I knew about my sun sign, I could match in her. I wont bore anyone by telling what they are, and it would also make you lose interest in the book, if you haven’t read it.

This, is the book, I will love coming back to re-read again and again.

These are the quotes, I love about the book. Actually, it sums up Scarlett for me and you. Thats why I like them.

Hunger gnawed at her empty stomach again and she said aloud: “As God is my witness, as God is my witness, the Yankees aren’t going to lick me. I’m going to live through this, and when it’s over, I’m never going to be hungry again. No, nor any of my folks. If I have to steal or kill— as God is my witness, I’m never going to be hungry again.”

“I’ll think of it all tomorrow, at Tara. I can stand it then. Tomorrow, I’ll think of some way to get him back. After all, tomorrow is another day.”

From → Review

2 Comments
  1. Anonymous permalink

    expect to see more blogs like this!!

  2. Fiery Ice permalink

    @Anonymous..
    Thanks.. I expect you to name yourself here please..It will be easier..

Leave a Reply

